Grief Resources

Grief usually follows some sort of loss — whether that is the death of a loved one, or a divorce/separation, loss of a job, or some other significant change in life that means leaving behind something cherished. We also use the term ‘bereavement’ when talking about the period of sadness that follows a major loss.

There are a number of stages in the grief process as follows:

  • Denial — initially it is difficult to believe the loss has happened — there are usually feelings of numbness, as if you are living in a dream.
  • Anger — it is quite normal to feel angry — even anger towards a loved one who has died is normal.
  • Depression — once you begin to realise the loss has happened and you cannot change it, many people feel angry and frustrated.
  • Acceptance — acknowledging the loss and accepting that it has happened and your situation will not change — it is time to move on.

Grief is a normal reaction to loss and no two people experience grief in the same way. It is a process that all people must go through when they experience the loss of something dear to them.

Grief Topics

The grief topics we produce resources for include:

  • Bereavement
  • Death of a loved one
  • Job loss
  • The grief process

Grief Support for Schools

We publish grief resources that support schools by providing help and information in an educational format. Our resource packs cover the details in a delicate way that informs as well as educates.

Grief Support for Teachers

For grief resources for teachers, please view our grief resource packs that cover a variety of issues as well as our lesson plans on grief.

Grief Support for Students

Teaching students about grief can be a difficult task. Our aim is to produce resource packs that deal with the issues in a way that respects the privacy of anyone going through these issues.

Grief blog articles